When Netflix discovers you’re watching on someone else’s account.
Netflix has decided that it can no longer afford to allow cheapskates to share passwords, and will institute a plan designed to eliminate such leeching. How, exactly, they will do this without interrupting the ability of actual customers to watch what they pay for is still, apparently, somewhat up in the air. CNBC reports something about texting a PIN number and giving people 15 minutes to confirm; earlier versions of the Twitter FAQ said you’d have to check in on your home IP address once a month to make keep using that device.
This has led to much chortling, since Netflix once tweeted this:
Love is sharing a password.
7:00 PM ∙ Mar 10, 2017 52,452Likes20,710Retweets